Winners announced for YouTube Music Awards

Ed Sheeran, Charli XCX, Ella Henderson, FKA Twigs, and George Ezra are among the British winners of this year’s YouTube Music Awards, which take place on Monday, March 23.

The 50 winners are not voted for, but are chosen based on growth in views, subscribers and engagement over the last six months on YouTube. Combined, the acts have more than 164 million subscribers and 47 billion video views between them.

The second YouTube Music Awards will not celebrate the winners with a ceremony, but will instead takeover YouTube with 15 emerging and established artists (including winners Charli XCX and Ed Sheeran) debuting new, exclusive videos on the YouTube Music Awards channel. Vice has produced the videos, which see artists paired up with different video directors.

In a blog post, Eshan Ponnadurai, head of brand and creative marketing for music on YouTube said: “These artists prove that YouTube is not only a place to launch new music and be discovered by fans around the world, but also where artists and fans truly connect. In that spirit, this award is just one step in our effort to keep making YouTube a great place for artists and fans to experience music together.”

The full list of winners for the 2015 YouTube Music Awards are: 2NE1, Alt-J, Ariana Grande, Beyonce, Bigbang, Big Sean, Brad Paisley, Charlie XCX, Dej Loaf, Drake, Ed Sheeran, Ella Henderson, Fifth Harmony, FKA Twigs, Florida Georgia Line, George Ezra, Hoodie Allen, Hozier, Hunter Hayes, J. Cole, Jason Derulo, Katy Perry, Kendrick Lamar, Kiesza, Kurt Hugo Schneider, Lady Gaga, Lindsey Stirling, Martin Garrix, Max, Megan Nicole, Meghan Trainor, Miggs, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, Nicky Jam, OK Go, One Direction, Pentatonix, Pharrell Williams, Rihanna, Sam Smith, Sia, Snoop Dogg, Taylor Swift, The Weeknd, Tinashe, Tori Kelly, Tove Lo, Troy Sivan and Tyler Ward

Posted on March 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

Share the Story

About the Author

Back to Top